Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

Pacific and Central League Playoff Differences?

Discussion in the Ask the Commish forum
Pacific and Central League Playoff Differences?
Aloha from Hawaii! Is there a difference in the playoff systems between the Pacific and Central Leagues? If so, why and how long have they had differing playoff series prior to the Japan Series? Thanks!
Comments
Re: Pacific and Central League Playoff Differences?
[ Author: westbaystars | Posted: Oct 13, 2004 5:40 PM | YBS Fan ]

Based on the first question, it appears that you haven't bothered to do any research whatsoever. Have you?

If you can first explain the major difference between the two leagues' playoff systems this year, I'll answer any further questions you may have to the best of my ability.
Sure, I'll Play
[ Author: Guest: Alohano | Posted: Oct 14, 2004 12:54 PM ]

Maybe I phrased my question too simply, yes, I'm a newbie. But why is the Pacific League having a playoff between Seibu and Nippon Ham with the winner playing Daiei when (at least I haven't heard of any games) the Dragons are just waiting for the Pacific League winner as the Champion of the Central League? Do both leagues play the same number or regular season games? Why is there a difference and how long has there been a difference?

Mahalo from Hawaii!
[ Author: westbaystars | Posted: Oct 14, 2004 7:03 PM | YBS Fan ]

Thank you. You are correct, the Pacific League had playoffs, the Central League did not. I do expect even newbies to do some research before asking questions.

The announcement about how the playoffs were to work was made back in May of 2003 here. As you can see, most people here were opposed to the idea. I think that most of them would agree that it turned out to be a much bigger success than they'd have thought.