Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

Why not Kyoto?

Discussion in the Ask the Commish forum
Why not Kyoto?
Hi, I'm a newbie here and I like to keep myself up-to-date on Japanese baseball. I was just wondering why Rakuten or Livedoor did not choose Kyoto as a possible home city for their prospective clubs? Last time I checked on the internet, Kyoto had over 1.4 million people and Sendai just over 1 million. Wouldn't 400,000 more people make more of an impact? Is there something about Kyoto that makes that city an unmarketable place for baseball? Just wondering.
Comments
Re: Why not Kyoto?
[ Author: mijow | Posted: Oct 15, 2004 9:53 PM | HT Fan ]

I think they're all Tigers fans in Kyoto.
[ Author: westbaystars | Posted: Oct 16, 2004 12:13 AM | YBS Fan ]

Kyoto is very close to Kobe, which is Orix territory. Hanshin holds most of the Kansai area in its grips, and Koba and Kyoto both fall in this area.

The Tohoku region is much riper for the picking than putting another team in the Kansai area. Even Shikoku, which would make another great place for a team, is closer to baseball (Hiroshima and Osaka) than the Tohoku region, yet significantly farther from Hanshin influence than Kyoto.
[ Author: Guest | Posted: Oct 16, 2004 12:05 PM ]

Well, here is the population ranking in Japan as of 2001 [Link - PDF file in English from Japanorama.com] (this is for anyone who is interested in this stat).
[ Author: torakichi | Posted: Oct 16, 2004 11:50 AM | HT Fan ]

There would also be stadium concerns. Kyoto is a major city and I assume its municipal grounds are already in regular use by its citizens. So annexing the ground like Livedoor or Rakuten intend to do in Tohoku isn't really an option.