Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

Koshien Weekend

Discussion in the NPB News forum
Koshien Weekend
I'm not a regular contributor, but I have checked in from time to time, and I read the recap of the 2003 Japan Series on these forums, since I didn't have access to TV. I should probably just say that I am a resident of Chicago, and I visited Tokyo on business in 2001, and was introduced to Pro Yakyu at that time. My business contact was a Hanshin Tigers fan, and took me to a baseball game at Jingu ballpark with the Tigers and the Swallows. I was hooked from day one, and immediately asked to attend another. I returned on vacation/business in 2002, and attended four more Hanshin Tigers games, two at the Big Egg and two at Koshien. This year, there are six games on my schedule, the first three at Koshien, and the next three will be at the Seibu Dome, where the Tigers take on the Lions for what I understand to be the first time ever. [From Admin: Hanshin hosted the Lions earlier to a 2 and 1 record at Koshien.]

Anyway, this weekend was a blast at "Ko-Shien." The Tigers hosted the Nippon-Ham Fighters for the weekend series.

Game 1 on Friday (June 10) had a busy first inning, leaving the Tigers leading 3-2. The game slowed down a bit, and eventually, it became tied up 4-4. In the 9th inning, Kanemoto served up the sayonara home run, causing the Tigers to win 5-4.