Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

Anti-Giants

Discussion in the Open Talk forum
Anti-Giants
I am a freelance journalist from Sweden who will visit Japan in April. I would like to do a story on anti-Giants fans and am looking for information and contacts regarding that. Are there any formal anti-Giants fan groups or associations, or is it more of a spontaneous phenomenon?

Of course I will also explain reasons for the animosity, like the Giants' dominant role and Tsuneo Watanabe being seen "as a kind of feudal lord" in Japanese baseball, as someone on the forum put it.

So please post a reply or send an email if you are anti-Giant and would consider an interview or going to a game with me, or just let me know if you have any advice regarding who to get in touch with.
Comments
Re: Anti-Giants
[ Author: torakichi | Posted: Mar 27, 2004 12:14 AM | HT Fan ]

Here's one take on it: There is a series of books (6 as far as I know) called "Anti-Kyojin." The Japanese version of Amazon carries them.

Incidently, running the keywords "Anti Kyojin" through Amazon.com (the US-based site) doesn't bring up any hits for those books, but it does list other entries that contain those words -- the first on the list is "You Gotta have Wa."
Re: Anti-Giants
[ Author: Guest: Mike | Posted: Apr 6, 2004 4:51 PM ]

It's funny how you mentioned Watanabe as a feudal lord. Just as the New York Yankees are to the Yomiuri Giants, Steinbrenner is to Watanabe. Of course, this is just my opinion.
About

This is a site about Pro Yakyu (Japanese Baseball), not about who the next player to go over to MLB is. It's a community of Pro Yakyu fans who have come together to share their knowledge and opinions with the world. It's a place to follow teams and individuals playing baseball in Japan (and Asia), and to learn about Japanese (and Asian) culture through baseball.