Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

Demographics of NPB

Discussion in the Ask the Commish forum
Demographics of NPB
I am currently a grad student in San Francisco and am involved in a brief research project concerning Nippon Professional Baseball. I have been trying to locate some kinds of demographic information to further my research. Nothing huge, but something to solidify everything. I have looked through the forums on this web site, as well as doing Google searches and am struggling to come up with anything, beyond simply saying baseball is really popular in Japan. Any information or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Comments
Re: Demographics of NPB
[ Author: Guest: Christopher Amano-Langtree | Posted: Sep 11, 2004 10:30 AM ]

Try Jim Albright's baseball guru web site - particularly JapanBaseballDaily.com. This should give you some of the history.

[Editor's note: BaseballGuru.com was founded and is run by Craig Tomarkin. Jim Albright and Gary Garland are the Japanese Insiders at the Guru. JapanBaseballDaily.com is an off-shoot run by Baseball Guru Garland-san.]
Re: Demographics of NPB
[ Author: westbaystars | Posted: Sep 14, 2004 8:08 PM | YBS Fan ]

Business and finance are weak spots for me. I don't know where to even begin looking for such information (other than Google, but I don't know keywords for the subject in Japanese).

You didn't say if you were looking for demographics for the professional game, high school or college level, or "just for fun" baseball.