Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

Geography help

Discussion in the Ask the Commish forum
Geography help
Hello,

I'm still learning how to navigate this forum/web site, so I apologize if this info is readily available somewhere.

Basically, I am trying to find out which team is located closest to Akita. I am just starting to get into Japanese baseball, and I'm shopping for a favorite team. My mom's hometown is Akita, so I thought I'd start there.

I am a SF Giants fan so I thought about jumping on the Yomiuri Giants bandwagon, but I understand they are the "Yankees" of NPB. Is that a fair assessment?

Thanks,

Stan
Comments
Re: Geography help
[ Author: Christopher | Posted: Jan 15, 2005 7:27 PM | HAN Fan ]

Hi SF Giants Fan,

Your nearest team is Tohoku Rakuten Golden Eagles - the new boys of Japanese baseball.

With regard to the Yomiuri Giants - yes it is a fair assessment.
[ Author: Guest: steve | Posted: Jan 15, 2005 10:49 PM ]

Well Giants fan,

Akita is probably closest to the new team in Tohoku prefecture, Sendai's Tohoku Rakuten Golden Eagles. It's just southeast of Akita. They also signed former career SF minor leaguer Damon Minor, so you will know at least one player. They wear red and gold uniforms like Barry Bonds' alma mater, Arizona State, and they look like they have a good young starting 5.

Yomiuri likes to be called Kyojin. They are not like our beloved Giants.
Tohoku
[ Author: SFGiantsFan | Posted: Jan 16, 2005 2:06 PM ]

Well, that's neat that Damon Minor made his way over there!

So, are the Golden Eagles the result of a merger of two teams?

One thing I find confusing, is that the names of teams are the Companies that own (sponsor?) them, right? (As opposed to the cities.) So with Tohoku Rakuten Golden Eagles, Tohoku is the prefecture they are located in? And Rakuten is the company?

I'm jumping on the bandwagon already!

- Yomiuri likes to be called Kyojin. They are not like our beloved Giants.

Kyojin?
Re: Tohoku