Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

Japanese Culture in Baseball

Discussion in the Open Talk forum
Japanese Culture in Baseball
I am a student at Princeton University and I am writing my senior thesis on the cultural links between Japan and baseball. Baseball obviously has cultural significance as it does in America and my interest lies in how two totally different cultures have embraced the game of baseball so strongly. I would appreciate any feedback on what specific cultural values show up in Japanese baseball. Also, what it means socially/cuturally to be a fan of Japanese baseball in Japan.
Comments
Re: Japanese Culture in Baseball
[ Author: westbaystars | Posted: Mar 27, 2005 3:01 PM | YBS Fan ]

First, have you read Robert Whiting's "You Gotta Have Wa" (Vintage Books, ISBN 0-679-72947-X)? That gives a great deal of the historic evolution of baseball in Japan, specifically explaining how it is that baseball became Japan's national pasttime. Whiting is your best resource for the "embracing" of the game.

What it means socially and culturally in the 21st century, though, may be different. Soccer has arisen as Japan's second major sport (other than Sumo) in recent years. Business no longer stop for the two high school baseball tournaments, collectively referred to as "Koshien," the name of the stadium outside of Osaka, that take place every Spring (an invitational) and Summer (championship teams from around Japan). The young are all busy walking around with phones in hand, not socializing the way previous generations did.